According to God’s Purpose

thanks 5

As I sit here this Thanksgiving morning eagerly awaiting the arrival of my family, I am reminded of just how much I have to be thankful for this year. This year has been a tough year… two deaths in the family, the death of a dear friend who lost her battle with cancer, my mom’s battle with cancer and my divorce. I am not one to put my personal business out for everyone to analyze or criticize, but today I recognize and thank God for the struggles. All of these external circumstances that often make life tough are just that… external, but it is the internal that matters the most that is sometimes forgotten during the struggle. These circumstances have been tough to say the least, but I am reminded of God’s word,”And we know that all things work together for good to them that love God, to them who are the called according to his purpose.” Romans 8:28

While death is an inevitable process, it is not the final destination, regardless of what you believe… there is more. The comfort in knowing Jesus is knowing that the final destination is greater than we can ever imagine. The blessing for me in all of this death is knowing exactly where they are now… sitting in the presence of the Lord. That is a blessing beyond measure, one that not everyone has when experiencing death of a loved one. I am thankful that I have this peace. Even though the loss is heartbreaking, it is just for a moment. Life moves forward and I am reminded of the impact that each of these people has had on me. There are no coincidences in life and I know that each of these people were in my life for a reason. I take those moments, cherish them and share them.

I have watched my mom battle cancer up close and personal. Watching others and now seeing her has brought a whole new prospective, one that has been a struggle for me. Cancer is a terrible disease. Watching someone you love suffer is awful. While cancer may be physical, the emotional battle in the mind is where the true battle occurs. Watching God lead my mom in the right direction, comforting her and giving her strength  and providing for her needs renews my faith in knowing God is never far away and is already at work in the circumstance before we even arrive. God has been faithful. His love and mercy evident each day and for all of these things I a thankful.

Learning to face my fears, being alone and walking this daily walk reminds me of just how much I need the Lord. I can’t do it… self reliance can only get me so far and then faith begins. Trusting that God has a plan and He knows what I need and He will provide it in his time. God has brought me a long way from the little barefoot, no shirt wearing, pony-tailed, tree climbing kid that I was. In every circumstance he has shown  me the way, opened doors I could have never imagined  and closed some doors that I wanted to walk through. I never dreamed or ever even thought that I would be a mom or a High School Principal. How he did it or why he did it… I don’t know, but I am amazed. I love being the mom of my children and I love being with children all day long watching them grow into what God would have them be. I realize I am never really alone, always surrounded by kids daily… what a blessing.

As I look out the window of my bedroom on this beautiful day, I know that God is always working things out for my good, even in the struggles. I have more reason than ever to be thankful for what I have, for what He didn’t let me have, for what He has planned for me and for his love in giving more than I deserve. I am thankful!

Happy Thanksgiving to all and may God continue to bless you beyond your imagination!

Leave a Reply

