Low Calorie Waffles

waffle iron

One week out from my marathon and I am working to stay on track especially with what I eat. This morning I had low-calorie waffles…. delicious. A quick and easy recipe my mom has been cooking for years for my stepdad. They don’t look perfect, but they taste perfect. You know if a man will eat it, it must be pretty good 🙂 Mom says it is much easier to cook on a waffle iron than to cook pancakes, I believe she is right. I started my day with a low-calorie breakfast  that satisfied my sweet tooth and gave me some carbs as I start adding some additional carbs to my diet for the 26 mile run to come in just six short days!

Easy ingredients:

3 cups uncooked old fashion rolled oats

1/4 tsp salt

1 and 1/2 cups cold water

1 and 1/2 tsp vanilla extract

1 tbsp honey

3 tbsp almond milk

Mix it all in a blender.

waffle ingredients (honey right out of the hive, non processed)

Batter is easy to pour… semi thick

waffle batter

Pour on to hot waffle iron and cook until golden brown… very quick… just a few minutes.

I top with a touch of butter and some raw honey, but organic syrup, fresh fruit or cooked fruit is great too.

I had some cooked apples, but I eat them on the side and not on top of my waffles. They make me think of my grandmother!

stewed apples

Apples sliced, a small amount of water, 1/2 tsp butter, 1/2 tsp all spice and 1/2 tsp cinnamon; cooked until tender 7-8 minutes.

A good start to my day and very filling…. most likely won’t even be hungry till dinner time. Now for the beginning of my taper down rest week!

Leave a Reply

