Nutrition trumps exercise…

good nutritionThe most valuable lesson I have learned in my journey to a healthier life is that nutrition trumps exercise. Somewhere through all the running, biking and Crossfit I ate more as I felt I had earned it. I found more reasons to have a cheat meal or day and ended up with an additional thirteen pounds back on over a year’s time. That was through training for a marathon and lifting some of my heaviest weights. Not what I had bargained for at all. Add to that, I was over 46 and the pounds haven’t been so easy to shed. What’s going on? Hormonal changes happened said the doctor… metabolism slows down, body doesn’t produce stuff like it use to and all of sudden weight becomes a major issue… more so for women than men. That stinks!

At first I thought I wasn’t eating that bad or that much more, but I was wrong. I was eating more cheat meals, my portions sizes had increased and the regular habits of eating healthy had slipped to a minimum. I didn’t want to believe it was true. I knew better so to see if it was true I started logging my food again with My Fitness Pal on my Fitbit. I was astonished at how much I was eating and what I was eating. I realized again that I am a stress eater. Going through all the things with mom’s cancer and juggling work and worry added up to crazy eating… comfort food with large portions. The logging of my food brought me back to reality.

Being back to reality doesn’t make it easy to stop crazy habits, but I am aware and that is the most critical piece to understanding  that food is fuel not entertainment. Finding what works is different for everyone, but I do best if I eat lighter in the morning and heavier meals toward the afternoon and evenings, but not too late. It is hard. I am having to reset my brain again and my body. I am having to do things to help with stress besides eat. If I feel I have to eat, my choices have to be better. To make better choices, I have to be prepared and have the right stuff available. I like quick and easy… no fuss, no major cooking production just grab and eat.

I did pretty good this week overall.

Today my menu looked like this… no pretty presentation, no gourmet cook… just simple and easy….

  • Morning Coffee with a superfood bar (210 calories).
  • 14.5 mile mountain bike interval sprints.
  • 3 mile walk/ run immediately following bike ride
  • Breakfast was 1/2 cup cottage cheese, 1/4 apple diced, 1/2 tsp sunflower butter and cinnamon sprinkles (150 calories).

cottage cheese apples

  • Church
  • nap
  • Lunch was Ezekiel muffin, 1/2 apple sliced, low fat mozzarella cheese toasted (200 calories)… not pretty but one of my favorites!

Apple cheese peanut butter

  • Snack was1/2 apple and cheese stick ( 120 calories)
  • Grocery shopping for the week
  • Dinner was Goulash Hash. It was all the stuff I needed to cook… ground beef, onion, bell pepper, butternut squash, black beans all sauteed up in a pan with seasonings and left to simmer. Then, I roasted my cauliflower for about 15 minutes in the oven. I used the cauliflower like I would rice, poured the goulash over the cauliflower and added a dab of hot salsa for a little kick. It was pretty good, if I do say so myself:). I am guessing about 400-450 calories.

goulash hash

Total calories is only 1130 for the day which is low… but I  am about to have a snack.. almond milk and shredded organic mini wheats:) Back on track and feeling good. I love cereal!

Stay the course… when you get blown off course… you can find your way back. Be encouraged today.

Leave a Reply

